Day 213

04.11.2012

Trust.List.Piercing.Pivotal.Consistently.Homely.Sympathy.Somewhere.Free.

Case.Moot.Precious.Suitcase.Ten.PS.

People don’t trust an English accent on a night out. Girls think you’re a player and guys think you’re hitting on their girls. Truth is, both assumptions are most probably true, but not in all cases.

This time in ten days I will be back home in England. I have a list of things I need to do before I arrive back home. One of which is to get into college out here.

Today was bliss. Walking through downtown Chicago with just my trusty iPod as a friend and the wind piercing my ears and drying my lips, I realised that I have got to stay out in this country as long as possible. Its small moments like them that make you realise what a special place you are in.

If I think back to the events I have been to, from screaming like a pre-pubescent girl at the Coldplay gig in Philadelphia, to watching the Chicago Bulls, catching a catfish in Gettysburg to almost drowning in Alabama, this was probably the most pivotal moment since being here.

The last post I did was bittersweet: it got me a lot of views, questions, attention; but it made me look depressed. I was not and have not ever been sad about being out here. Can any of you honestly say that out of your 15, 20, 30, 50+ years of living, you have had a consistently superb, life-changing seven months in a row. Sure you may have had one week here, one month there, but I’m talking out of 213 days, 200 have been quality.

Sure I miss home, home is home, I’m living in a homely house, but it’s not the same as having your own bed, and not secretly having a countdown in your head of how long it’ll be before you have to pack your bags and fly home.

The last blog I did everyone was feeling sorry for me. I assure you I do not want or did not want sympathy. You’re probably going to hate me after reading this positive post and want me to shut up, you’ll probably be thinking “yeah we get it you’re in America cool” – but you’ll just have to get used to that.

I will most likely be coming out here in April, in the meantime I will be getting a job somewhere to save up for the flights, VISA’s etc. and most importantly I will be looking for a college out here.

On Wednesday, Steve the Goalie, Kristian and I will be travelling down to Wittenberg, which is a university in Ohio. This 12 hour round trip could be a very worthwhile trip indeed. If I got into an American college I would be happier than the fatty who won a free big mac at the Bulls game when it got fired out of a canon. Mind you I’d be pretty happy if I won one too, but I digress. The point still stands; I want to go to university out here.

Just in case I haven’t mentioned it yet, I want to study in America.

I love the word ‘moot’.

If you look on my Facebook you’ll see pictures of me with all my teams, they’re ‘precious’.

Anyway, I’m off to do my preliminary pack so I can figure out how big my new second suitcase will be. In April I will be bringing out here a half filled suitcase and will be buying shitloads of new clothes. Not that I need any.

See you all soon.

#MarksyyOnTour

P.S. I feel like colleges may look at this page so I need to proof-read it, but I’m sticking by the point of this blog and that’s to write whatever is in my head, so if it comes out all gobbledegook on here just be sure to know that in my head what I have written makes perfect sense.

One thought on “Day 213

TALK TO ME

