Day 33

08.05.2012

India.Ade.Dwight.Chickens.Refuge.Respect.Powerful.5.Ha.Avengers.

Racism.Booze.

I discovered the Ben Howard cover of Call Me Maybe from India’s twitter, I doubt she’ll even read this, but well done you for showing it to me before everyone else did. If you don’t know it then here you go:

Steve the Goalie and I went for a nice 40 minute run in the sun which was nice. If I run without a drink my mouth becomes so dry, no matter how much water I have before or during my run. If this happens to you then you need to have a drink with electrolytes in, like Gatorade/Powerade/Lucozade/SoccerAde/AnyDrinkWith-ade. If this doesn’t apply to you, then I am sorry for wasting 30 seconds of your life.

I had a strawberry banana flavoured yoghurt, people should mix these two fruits more often, they work well together. They’re like the Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole of yoghurt flavours.

Coaching on a Tuesday is not so much coaching, but instead it is just a test to see if I have good patience or not. Alan and I dressed as chickens for half an hour and got balls kicked at us, this was fun. The next hour after that certainly is not fun. Nobody listens, they just run around a boot balls everywhere. I ended up just standing there for about 3 minutes not saying anything to see if the kids realised. They didn’t.

Usually I seek refuge at the goalkeeper clinic from 6-7pm as these children are usually good. They weren’t listening to any of us so I snapped for the first time since being here.

The speech went like so:

RIGHT, LAST WEEK, WE HAD A BUNCH OF KIDS THAT DIDN’T TALK WHEN WE TALKED, THEY LISTENED, THEY STOOD STILL, THEY DIDN’T THROW THE BALL AROUND AND KICK IT WHEN THEY WERE TOLD TO KEEP THE BALL STILL AND THEY LEARNT SO MUCH. I HAVE NEVER EVER SEEN A GROUP OF KIDS IMPROVE IN 1 HOUR LIKE THEY DID LAST WEEK. IF YOU LOT ARE TALKING HOW ARE YOU GONNA KNOW WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO? YOU WON’T, SO BE QUIET, STOP TALKING, SHOW JUST A LITTLE BIT OF RESPECT AND LISTEN TO COACH STEVE.

I felt so powerful.

I then made Chris and Maggie sit out for 5 minutes facing away from everyone else.

Ha.

Alan, Kristian, Steve the Goalie, Will and I went to watch The Avengers. We got there about an hour early so we went to a Mexican restaurant where Alan broke a bowl on the floor. Avengers was different class, the 3D was probably a bit unnecessary but hey, I’m not gonna start complaining about it because it was stunning. I want to be Ironman. When the new Batman film comes out I will be so excited.

In the car journey home I realised that there is a fine line between banter and racism.
I sat and watched Man vs Booze on YouTube for about an hour when I got home. Here is my favourite one:

#MarksyyOnTour

TALK TO ME

